Paul Schmidt

‘Rumors’ around Saluki Basketball

In College Basketball, SIU Basketball, Sports on March 27, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Just recently on March 7th I wrote a blog titled ‘State of Saluki Basketball’ in which I gave my opinion about the team both good and bad. Now this week around campus I have hear several ‘rumors’ and I only say ‘rumors’ about Southern Illinois’ basketball team. I wish I could say that these ‘rumors’ were to say the least ‘good rumors’ but they are on the opposite side of the spectrum these ‘rumors’ are worst case scenario for the team and university.

There are a number of players that these ‘rumors’ surround and talk of some that were featured players of the team. The ‘rumor’ that struck me the most was that sophomores Kevin Dillard and Anthony Booker along with juniors John Freeman and Jack Crowder have quit the team. Now this would be devastating for the 2010-2011 season taking away the Salukis main ball handler in Dillard and big role players in Booker who was on Missouri Valley conference all bench team and Freeman who played a larger role as the season progressed. Crowder also played in place of Tony Freeman when he was out at the beginning of the year and he will be missed along with the other three players if this ‘rumor’ is true.

Now the second ‘rumor’ that caught wind around the SIU campus was that point guard Kevin Dillard was going to transfer to Xavier in the Atlantic 10 conference. Xavier is a school known for its good basketball teams and they have reached the Sweet Sixteen in three straight seasons. This would leave SIU without a dominate ball handler and put freshman Kendal Brown-Surels in control of the team who has proven himself to be able to be relied on when Dillard was in foul trouble this season. For the past two seasons Dillard has led the Salukis in scoring and losing him would be tragic.

I remind you that these are only ‘rumors’ that have been heard around the campus in Carbondale. As a fan of Saluki sports especially basketball and football it would tear out some of my hopes that SIU can win the Missouri Valley Conference and make the National Collegiate Athletic Association’s annual tournament. We can only hope that these are only ‘rumors’ in which I bring to your attention today and that soon maybe I can update this and say that these ‘rumors’ are false.

  1. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment